About Us


Anderson Regional Joint Water System

The water treatment plant is supplied by surface water from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers’ 55,000-acre Lake Hartwell Reservoir, which lies along the border of upstate South Carolina and Georgia. The plant operates 24 hours per day, every day of the year. Its current capacity is 48 million gallons a day (MGD).

Formed in 2000 under Title 6 Chapter 25 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, 1976, as amended, there were three (3) founding members of Anderson Regional Joint Water System — Belton-Honea Path Water Authority, Big Creek Water District, and Broadway Water District. These three (3) members added ten new members in April of 2002 and, at the same time, the expanded partnership purchased and began operating Duke Energy’s Lake Hartwell Water Treatment Plant.

The Joint Water System is governed by a 14-member Board of Commissioners. Each member of the Board represents a water district or municipality that purchases its water from the Joint Water System. Currently, there are fifteen (15) member agencies in Anderson and Pickens Counties, and all except Belton-Honea Path Water Authority receive treated water from the Joint Water System. Clemson University also purchases water from the System, but is exempt from membership on the Board because of state statute.

About Us

Our History

The Anderson Regional Joint Water System (ARJWS) has a rich history dating back to the 1800s. It has been built through the hands of many hardworking men and women who also engaged their minds to continually improve the system.

Our Mission

Regional partners committed to providing safe, quality, affordable water through cooperative environmental stewardship to achieve an enhanced quality of life.

Our Vision

Recognized leader providing sustainable water resources to promote an enhanced quality of life and a growing economy.